Contemporary Art Foundation Drawing Prize

Daniel et Florence Guerlain

In 2006, Florence and Daniel Guerlain decided to focus their efforts on their passion for drawing and founded the contemporary Drawing Prize. Intended for artists for whom drawing – work on paper or cardboard, collages, wall drawings is a significant part of their work. All graphic means are allowed - pencil, charcoal, ink, wash tint, gouache, watercolour, pastel, felt tip or sanguine – except for computer or mechanical processes.

The three artists nominated, each year, by a committee of six experts may be of French or foreign nationality on condition that they entertain a privileged cultural link with France through institutional exhibitions, studies or being in residence there.

The winner is chosen by a jury of French and foreign collectors renewed each year 

The winner receives an award of €15,000, while the two runners-up each receive an award of €5,000. In addition, a work by the winner is donated by the Foundation to the Prints and Drawings department at the Musée National d’Art Moderne-Centre Pompidou.


Since it was launched, the Drawing Prize has been awarded to: Silvia Bächli, Sandra Vásquez de la Horra, Catharina Van Eetvelde, Marcel Van Eeden, Jorinde Voigt, Susan Hefuna, Tomasz Kowalski, Jockum Nordström, Cameron Jamie, Ciprian Muresan, Mamma Andersson, Claire Morgan, Juan Uslé and Françoise Pétrovitch

The Drawing Prize is sponsored by “Le Cercle des Amis”, Neuflize OBC, la Maison Guerlain, Artcurial,  Artprice by, Voisin Consulting Life Sciences, Groupe Elysées Monceau, Groupe Pasteur Mutualité, the Salon du Dessin, L’École des Beaux-Arts de Paris and Champagne Ruinart.

Members of the 2022 jury :

 Nassib Abou-Khalil (Lebanon), Joe Battat (Canada), Laura Ningzheng (China), Bimpe Nkontchou (Nigeria), Laurent Boillot, Laurence Danon, Pierre Rainero and Florence & Daniel Guerlain (France)

Members of the committee :

Emmanuelle Brugerolles, Head Curator in charge of the collection of l’Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-arts of Paris

Yuan-Chih Cheng, adviser to the Department of Artistic Creation at the French Ministry of Culture

Hervé Halgand, collector

Christophe Leribault, chairman of the Musée d’Orsay and the Musée de l’Orangerie

Lucia Pesapane, exhibition curator

Florence and Daniel Guerlain, collectors and founders of the Drawing Prize.

Selected Artists 2022

Presentation interactive